Recording fees are set by state law and county ordinance, not by the Office of the Recorder.
PLEASE NOTE that we are unable to give recording fee “quotes” over the phone, because the final recording fee can only be determined by inspecting the document. Though this fee schedule and our staff can help you estimate your fees, it is recommended that you bring cash, credit card, or wait to fill out the amount due on your check until you meet with a Cashier.

ATTENTION: Beginning May 20th, 2019, there will be a new fee schedule reflecting the predictable fee ordinance passed by the Cook County Board.

Recording Prices as of Monday May 20th, 2019
STANDARD DOCUMENTS
Standard Documents with Rental Housing Support Program (RHSP) Fee*  (Source: Ch.2,Art.IV,Div.3,Sec.2-210) $98
Standard Documents without RHSP fee* $88
Certified copies of standard documents $55
Non-Certified copies of standard documents $27.50
NON-STANDARD DOCUMENTS
Non-Standard instruments that are price by page (first two pages) (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002)*

(Plus $2 for each additional page)

$53
Grantor/Grantee affidavit (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002) $4
Additional fee for documents wherein the premises affected thereby are refereed to by document number and not by legal description, per document number (Source: 55ILCS 5/4-12002) $2
Additional fee for documents affecting multiple tracts, parcels or lots from different addition or subdivisions per additional addition or subdivision (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002) $2
Plats of additions or subdivisions (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002)*

(Plus $2 for each tracts, parcel, or lot therein)

$133
Non-Conforming as described in paragraphs (1) through (5) of 55 ILCS 5/4-12002 (first two pages) (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002)*

(Plus $4 for each additional page)

$73
Rental Housing Support Program Fee (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002) $9
Documents that affect interests in real estate that are not filed by any State Agency, any unit of local government, or any school district (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002) $1
Certified Copies of non-standard documents (first two pages)

(Plus $2 for each additional page)

$20
 Non-Certified Copies of non-standard documents

(Plus $1 for each additional page)

$10
LIENS
State or Federal Tax Liens and Releases (flat fee)Federal Tax Liens and Releases (Source: 770 ILCS 110/5)

Illinois Department of Revenue Liens and Releases (Source: 55 ILCS 5/4-12002)

(Plus $1 for each additional name)

$38
Certificate of Discharge or Release of State or Federal Tax Lien $38
Mechanic’s Lien and satisfaction or releases of Mechanic’s Lien or Assignments (first four pages) (Source: 770 ILCS 60/38)

(Plus $1 for each additional page) (Source: 770 ILCS 60/38)

(Plus $1 for each additional document number noted) (Source: 770 ILCS 60/38)

$45
UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE “U” FILINGS (UCC)
(UCC-1 filings are filed with the Illinois Secretary of State. Source 810 ILCS 5/9
Continuations and Partial Releases (Source: 810 ILCS 5/9) $53
Terminations (National Form) (Source: 810 ILCS 5/9) $38
UCC Name Search (Source: 810 ILCS 5/9) $10
UCC Copy (Section 180.13) $1 (per page)
ADDITIONAL FEES/COSTS/CHARGES
To record DD-214 Military Discharge Papers (Includes one certified copy) (Source: 55 ILCS 5/3-5015) FREE
Electronic copies of documents from Recorder’s website $5
Mail Handling Fee, per document submitted by mail or commercial shipping carrier $5
Mail Box Rental (Per Month) (Source: County Ord. 08-O-33) $50
*Fee shown includes: Base Recording Fee, $23 GIS Fee, and $10 Document Storage Automation Fee